Come back slower, come back faster

Happy to report that I had a pain free 9km jog this evening. It’s been well over a month since the GOR marathon, and I most certainly have lost some fitness. However, it was reassuring to note that the 5:30 pace of today’s run felt relatively easy and almost effortless. 

I have almost a full year to prepare for TNF100, so my plan is to take it slow. No more ramping up miles week to week. I won’t even be applying the 10% per week rule. The plan for now is to gradually increase my mileage up to 50km/week. From there, I might go up 10% every 2-3 weeks, with low volume weeks on every third or fourth week.  

I will largely be playing it by ear, but the aim is to be comfortably doing 90-110km weeks twice a month by next March, a 140km week including a 70km run in April, and lots and lots of hills along the way. 

The only way I’m going to get there, is to have a relatively (hopefully absolutely!) injury free run all the way up to the event, and so, while I am still running short distances and slowly restoring my endurance, my focus will be to build up strength and speed. The main fundamental change will be to try and persuade my body to utilise my gluteal muscle group as the main propulsion drivers, rather than my hideously overworked hamstrings.

The running drills and modification to my warmup routine seem to be having an effect. My hamstrings are feeling fresher post-run, and I can definitely feel a bit more activity in my arse during my stride. I also seem to have gotten a bit of a speed boost!

The focus next week will be to increase running frequency. The run lengths will stay low – 4-8km or so with a 10km long run. However, I will bump the sessions up to 3/week, followed by 4/week the week after, and then finally back to my usual 5 sessions per week. In the meantime, I will have to resist the urge to bump up my long run distances. I really miss the amazing views in Lysterfield and some of the other trails that I only get on the 30+km runs, but I will have to resist those urges for now and think longer term. I will get there, and sooner rather than later, but patience will be key for now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come back slower, come back faster

  1. Martha says:

    So wonderful you had a pain free run! I think you are smart in your future training plan, as obviously staying injury free is the ultimate goal, especially when you have a history of being hurt. Very best wishes to you on your journey. I look forward to seeing how everything goes!

    • Thanks, and likewise to you! I really hope your shins are your first and only running injury. Like you, I had trouble listening to advice in the earlier years and for me, that meant that each injury tended to spark a chain reaction of breakdowns as I ran through pain and compensated using other muscles to do things they weren’t meant to be doing. You’re doing the right thing early on, so here’s praying you nip it in the bud!

Leave a Reply

