What’s worse than a bad day at work?

P1000501

A bad day at work, plus no running. And not being able to see my family.

There’s just too much work! A sensitive thing to say at a time when there are heaps of people out there who would kill for a job. However, today, I sat in front of the screen, plugging away till my stomach started to churn and an excruciating dull ache developed behind my eyes. It wasn’t too long a day as far as records go – 13 hours or so, but I think age is catching up with me. I stumbled home in a daze just in time to see E off to bed, and while I was grateful for those few minutes, I am still feeling rather bitter that it wasn’t longer than that.

So what about running? It’s been a really lousy fortnight as far as that goes. Two Sundays ago, I re-injured my Posterior Tibialis tendon. It’s one of those body parts you never knew you had until you hurt it. Unfortunately, once you do, it has a pretty high likelihood of coming back. I first pinged it over a year ago, and it took me out of proper action for a good two months. I managed to recover, run an ultramarathon and a marathon, and so for all purposes it was a part of the past that I had more or less chucked under the carpet.

And so, surprise surprise, as I was plodding along gently up the long climb to trig point in Lysterfield, I suddenly felt a needle prick along the PTT tendon, right above my medial ankle. The prick quickly spread into a burning sensation along the length of the tendon. It wasn’t too bad though, and I was able to complete my run, and even go for my usual sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday. However, Wednesday’s session just didn’t feel right – the tendon was achy. Nothing to scream about and I certainly could have run, but it just felt.. wrong.

So, off the the physiotherapist I went. Karl from Back in Motion was pretty optimistic – a bit of dry needling, and he sent me on my way with instructions to take a couple days off and come back. That bit of dry needling sent my calf into a spasm that lasted three days! So, instead of my run, I sought the company of an old friend – my trusty bicycle that had been leaning against the garage wall for months. E was rather excited too – he loves hopping on the rear seat – just doesn’t happen very often now that work is crazy busy! It was the perfect way to spend Father’s day.

P1010959

If it’s always this fun when Daddy hurts his legs, I hope it happens more often!

Back to running – in short, I’ve decided to play it safe – I’ve had no running for about 8 days straight. Sunday just past I had an easy 7.5km, which went pretty well until the ache resurfaced at 6km or so. A break yesterday, and did a short 2.5km today – still a bit niggly during the run, but at least it isn’t pulling up sore after, which I think is a good sign. I really hope this heals up quick – I have something really special planned for early November, and I need to be able to run. For a very long time. So I’ll be taking it easy for now, a little prayer and rest certainly won’t hurt.

In the meantime, I need to find some other thing to take away the dreaded work-day blues!

This entry was posted in Family, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s worse than a bad day at work?

  1. Runnabe Mom says:

    Just wanted to send some well wishes your way – hope you heal quickly.

Leave a Reply

