The first step

If you’ve been reading the last couple of posts, you’ll know that I’ve just come back from an amazing week in my favourite country in the world, New Zealand, where I got to lose myself in the wonders of the Heaphy Track. Well, the story didn’t quite end there. Right after that plane touched down, I spent the next twenty minutes in my car taking a big step of another kind:

Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 11.56.14 pm

That’s right – it’s on. My name is on the roll for TNF 100. 10am, Wednesday 5 November, the day I completed the Heaphy Track, was also coincidentally the opening day for entries to the North Face 100 2015 in the Blue Mountains, and thanks to the time difference between Melbourne and NZ, the plane landed just an hour after opening time. Last year, entries sold out in 4 days, and I missed out, so not even the thought of my first shower in 48 hours was going to keep me from putting my name in the hat this time.

In other news, after the big miles done on the Heaphy Track, I’ve decided to hang up the running shoes for a couple of weeks, so that I’ll hopefully be in solid shape to kick off preparations for TNF100. That said, a week of sitting on my butt and staring at a screen really did get to me. Given that, I decided to give J a break this morning, and so I pulled out the MTB, strapped E into his seat, and off we went for a bit of 2 wheel mayhem.

E had a blast (as did Dad), Dad got a workout, Mum got a break – that’s a win-win-win if you ask me!

DSCN0780 (1)

How’s that for a selfie?

DSCN0776 (1)

This is awesome, Dad!

This entry was posted in Family, Race, Trail running, Ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The first step

  1. Martha B says:

    Woohoo! Way to pull that trigger. I look forward to hearing about your ultra adventures… Enjoy those rest/prep weeks… Soon you will fondly look back on them 🙂 Congrats on your newest commitment! This is going to be great!

    • Thanks! I am certainly loving the bit of extra time I have with E & J, but there’s only so much trail itch an MTB ride can scratch for me. In the meantime there’s a host of admin stuff like accommodation and flights to sort out for the race next year… might as well get that out of the way. It’s really good to see you back on track with the running btw!

      • Martha B says:

        I know. The MTB thing – this summer when I was injured I thought that would be good enough, and although it was fun to switch it up, all I felt like I was doing was basically scouting out trails for when I was ready to run again. Definitely get your logistics taken care of early, that way all you have to worry about is showing up trained and enjoying yourself… the less stress you have surrounding that day, the better experience you are going to have!
        Thanks on the running return, I knew I couldn’t stay away long. I was having a stressful year as a whole, trying to figure out my identity, trying to cope with turning 30, trying to keep my business together… I forgot how important taking care of myself was in the mix of all that, and how running keeps me balanced and that it’s ok to do for yourself every once in awhile. I’m enjoying my return… already signed up for the first two races of the PA trail runner trophy series – the first is a mountain half marathon in March and the second is the elusive Hyner 25k in April (which is supposedly a death march that everyone who participates in hates, but keeps coming back every year), so I can’t completely derail this winter. 🙂

      • Well it certainly sounds like you’ve come out on top, and I will be staying tuned! That Hyner 25 looks brutal, but I’m guessing that’s the point. Hats off to you and happy running!

Leave a Reply

