An anti-climax finish..

In recent years, particularly since E came along, I have not typically made a big deal about New Years Eve celebrations. My sister-in-law’s birthday falls on Dec 31, and so, other than a bit of a celebratory dinner, the extent of our observation of the turning of the calendar over the past few years has been really a countdown to around 10:30pm when we turn in for the night and bid 2014 goodbye from our dreams.

However, I certainly never saw this ending to 2014 coming, and was completely blindsided by what might be the worst bout of flu I have experienced in my adult life. It literally manifested in a matter of minutes – one moment I was fine and dandy, and the next moment I felt like my lifeforce had suddenly been drained through a funnel. As I type this, I have spent the last 36 or so hours lying in bed shivering away, shooting pains going through the back of my head and a general feeling of complete weakness. Even taking the twenty or so steps to the bathroom feels like a marathon. J & E are of course at my sis-in-law’s birthday dinner, so, unless I can wait up long enough, I will likely close out 2014 alone in my bed.

So, while I had all the best intentions of putting up a proper recap of 2014 complete with photos and yada yada, unfortunately, I am struggling to maintain any semblance of coherrence. As such, I may leave that to the first post of next year.

In the meantime, here’s wishing everyone a very happy 2015, and hope you are all in far better stead than I am.  May you smash all your goals and realise your dreams!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An anti-climax finish..

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery. Just think how easy all those tough 2015 miles will feel after you have dealt with a serious case of manflu.

    • Thanks! I reckon you’re right. Somehow the thought of dragging my arse up the 800m, 14km climb in the dark of the final leg of the planned 100k this year is way more appealing than having to relive the past three days.

  2. Martha B says:

    Feel better fast. The flu is no joke. There’s always next year to catch up on your blogging 🙂 obviously that’s sooner than later. Hope you’re over this soon!

  3. Jill says:

    Hoping you are back to your healthy, normal self soon. Happy New Year!

  4. therfpscribe says:

    Bet it’s the atrocious Singapore weather to blame. Rest up and get well soon, bro. 2015 will only get better from here! When are you headed back to Oz?

    • Cheers! I actually came down with it whilst visiting my mum’s folk in KL. We were there just for two nights, and the only reason I wasn’t in bed longer was because we had to fly back on the 30th. That is one travel experience I would not wish on anyone!

      We head back down under on Monday, so looks like it’s enforced rest for me till we get there. How about yourself? I have to say I do wish I was headed back to a European winter rather than 40C heat, but hey, either is better than the steam bath here!

  5. therfpscribe says:

    I leave tonight! I really don’t know if I’m all that keen to return to the freezing cold. It’s dark and miserable where I live. =( But two months away is long enough for GodzillaPin to get impatient and demand I return tout de suite!

Leave a Reply

