NZ family holiday update #2 / Tongariro Northern Circuit video

We’re coming up to the tail end of our family holiday, and tomorrow we fly back to reality home to Melbourne. Boohoo! Truth be told, while I would love to spend the rest of my life here exploring trails and mountain tops, there’s a part of me now that is more than ready to get back to work and in to the nuts and bolts of my new job.

Since my last post, E has played his first round of mini golf, J&I have walked the stunning Routeburn Track, and I’ve had a crack at completing the full circuit of the Kepler track (my quads are still hating me from that!). In between all that, we’ve spent some decent time with J’s folks, done a bit of free and easy sightseeing in Te Anau, Queenstown and Arrowtown, and chowed down on all sorts of yummy cuisine.

There is much to say about each of the above and, over the coming weeks, I do intend to blog about the various sections of our visit to this southern paradise in detail.

For now, I just wanted to leave a more detailed video to supplement my post about the run round the Tongariro Northern Circuit. This was my first time experimenting with the GoPro while running. It took me a while to get my head around what worked and what didn’t, and I still have a long way to go. On top of that, the battery on the GoPro only got half-way through the run, so the limited footage from the second half of the run was from my point and shoot camera (I think it’s pretty obvious where the transition occurs!).

Anyway, other than for preservation of my own personal record and memories, I hope this will give anyone who’s interested a flavour of the terrain and the trails in the area. Again, pretty new to video making/editing, so apologies if you find any part of this unwatchable (heck, I think I winced at a few clips), and any feedback would be much appreciated!

This entry was posted in Family, Trail running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

