Risky business

So, here I am with a quick blog update while on the second half of a 4 hour train ride, on my way to the little town of Bright, gateway to the Alpine national park where I will embark on my first local overnight adventure. Needless to say I am excited. However, at the same time, there is a bit of nervousness and apprehension, and for good reason. Up till last night, the weather forecast for this weekend looked a bit like this:

image

While being struck by lightning is a metaphor for highly unlikely events, mountain tops and thunderstorms are generally a lousy mix when it comes to safety, and while I will exercise common sense, a part of me would certainly be very annoyed at having come all this way to be in the mountains, just to spend two days hiding below the tree line.

Thankfully, the weather report has improved somewhat overnight, and thunderstorms are now only forecast for tomorrow evening, so with God’s blessing I might actually get to enjoy some good views.

My pack weighs a fair bit more than I wanted it to, and I have to confess I wasn’t very minimalist in my packing. I probably don’t really need half of the crap in my 30L pack, but for a first time where I am going to be fully self supported overnight in a remote area, I am erring on the side of caution (and a little luxury!). For example, I am actually carrying enough water to get me through the two days in a pinch, but I’ve also brought along a steri pen and a filter.  This means technically I should be able to ditch two thirds of the water which is really the bulk of the weight. I’ve also brought both a mug and a pot, when I really only need one or the other. Anyway, once I get a feel for how everything works, there is certainly scope to lighten the pack on future trips.

image

All the little niggles I’ve been complaining of over the past month seem to  have settled down. While I have been running regularly, I have however, not really tested my legs post injury on anything longer than 10km. Given I will be putting in about 30km per day over the next two days, I think slow and steady will be the way to go. After all, it’s a holiday, not a race!

I might leave this post at that, as I do want to catch a bit of a nap before the train arrives at my stop. Happy weekend all! Hopefully I’ll survive in one piece and be back with an update in a couple of days.

This entry was posted in Hiking, Trail running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Risky business

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Good luck and stay safe. Hope you have a wonderful experience. I am in awe of your sense of adventure.

  2. my26pointtwo says:

    How did your trip go?

  3. Glad you survived! I’m hiding below the tree line today with thunderstorms on my mountain, so I know how you felt that day!

Leave a Reply

